A PhD, explained. 

When you’re a star, I know you’ll fix everything

Now you know you’re sure lookin’ pretty

Rock the beat just a little faster

Now I know you are the master

I don’t wanna, I don’t think so

– Sonic Youth 

I’m so close…I looked at my Chair’s edits and I know I’m almost there. When you’re this close to the thing you’ve wanted ever since you can remember you can’t help but take a step back. I’ve been lagging since November. Time to snatch the prize. No matter the weight of responsibility is heavy. No matter I’m this close to finishing and the ennui is setting in. It’s time to be done. 

Few people speak about this last leg. Most post about getting the PhD. It seems almost anticlimactic when they do. I’m here struggling with the end. Wrestling like Jacob in the middle of the night with the angel of G-d. #phd #coolthing 

4 thoughts on “A PhD, explained. 

  1. Hi! hope the PhD is going well and is hopefully finally finished 🙂 I nominated you for the Leibster award on my recent blog post. Its a way to discover new blogs. I look forward to all your answers to the questions I’ve asked on there (no pressure though!) 🙂

    Like

    1. Still working on the dissertation…got detailed into “theory” and battling committee opinions but you reminded me today how much I love this blog and how it helped me to stay accountable and to keep using my writing muscle. Thank you for that and thank you for the nomination! I’m so excited! Let me go see the questions…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

